Daily Archives: April 1, 2017

Bonito

The name of the city just about says it all.  The Spanish word “bonito” means “beautiful” in English.

If you cannot find something to do in this city, you are definitely hard to please.  The city map has a key for artisan centers, water parks, biking, river tubing, waterfalls, horseback riding, contemplating, snorkeling, caving, scuba diving (open water certification required), bird watching, quad riding and rapeling.  Did you find your favorite activity?
Most of the activities require a local guide and transportation to your activity is not included in the price.
I opted to visit the Gruta do Lago Azul, the cave of the blue lake.  It is about 300 steps down into the cave to get near the lake.  They always fail to mention that it is also 300 steps back up to get out.  I wish that we had gotten there a little earlier in the morning.  The lake relies on natural light to show its blue color and it was getting a little dark in the cave to really show off the blue.

The second activity in which I chose to participate was the Boca da Onca Ecotour, the Jaguar’s Mouth.  The entry of this tour was only 800 steps down to the river bed.  These steps were all of wood and very well done.  A health questionnaire that had to be completed before we began the hike asked about physical limitations.  I was honest, I thought, and said “older knees”.  The recuperation time was truly worth the experience.

Amit Reddy, the Indian author, wrote, “The road never ends … only our vision does.”

Categories: Brazil | Leave a comment

Campo Grande

Campo Grande is the capital of the Brazilian state of Mato Grosso do Sul.  Making this the fourth state to which I have visited in Brazil.

Campo Grande was only founded in 1877 but has a population of about one million people.  Tourist information is very limited for this city.  It is mainly promoted as a starting point for visits to the Pantanal.
Since I decided not to visit the Pantanal, I had to find other ways to entertain myself while visiting the city.  I found various parks but none described as the Plaza Principal of the city.  It was the same situation with trying to locate the cathedral of the city, since it is the capital of the state.
Plaza of the Republic was only a couple of blocks from my hostel.  The church of St Joseph was likewise only a half block away.  Plaza Ary Coelho was across the street from my ATM source.  I found most things that I needed within walking distance of Pit Stop Hostel.

I found my greatest delight in hiking on the trails of the over 4 km long (over two miles), Parque das Nacoes Indigenas.

The park was also home to Museu das Culturas Dom Bosco.  This is again a museum of the Salesian Order which I had found to be excellent in other locations of my travels.

The museum concentrated on the four indigenous groups which inhabit the region of Mato Grosso, before it was divided into two states.  The exhibits were generally well signed and also in English as well.

Judith Schalansky, the German author, wrote, ““Consulting maps can diminish the wanderlust that they awaken, as the act of looking at them can replace the act of travel. But looking at maps is much more than an act of aesthetic replacement. Anyone who opens an atlas wants everything at once, without limits–the whole world. This longing will always be great, far greater than any satisfaction to be had by attaining what is desired. Give me an atlas over a guidebook any day. There is no more poetic book in the world.”

Categories: Brazil | Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.