Daily Archives: September 1, 2014

Ibarra (San Miguel de Ibarra) and Otavalo

The city of Ibarra is located about two hours south of the border with Colombia.  I cleared out of Colombia (the third in line when I got there) with a couple of days to spare.  I cleared into Ecuador (fifth in line when I got there) after a short walk across the bridge over the river that separates the two countries.  I cleared into Ecuador with no onward ticket to anywhere and no check of my yellow fever certificate.  I was given an initial ninety days to be in Ecuador.  There was no checking of my backpack or any other sort of inspection. There were money changers on both ends of the bridge.  They were offering a fair rate of exchange and I changed the last of my COP into US$, the legal currency in Ecuador.  It seems strange to have US money in my pocket again.

Less than fifty meters to the colectivos, from the immigration office, which would take me to the bus terminal in Tulcan for my bus to Ibarra.  Hassle free and efficient would be my description of the crossing.
There were some specific attractions for me in Ibarra.  I knew that there was an archaeological site and a museum here in Ibarra.  The guidebooks also describe large, leafy plazas in the center of the city.  It ended up that there were two museums and one small site which was not the easiest to find.  The archaeological site, called Inca Huisa, is located in Caranqui, a district about three km east of the city center.  I could not access the site but I could see and take photos through and over fences and barricades.
005
Nearby they are constructing a “Temple of the Sun” which will be the home for the Incan and Cultura Caranqui ceramics and other pieces currently on display in the theater building near the center of the city. This museum is called Museo Arqueologico y Etnografico Atahualpa.  Unlike the other museum in the city, Museo de Arqueologia Regional de la Sierra Norte Ibarra, there were no restrictions on photography of the items on display.
004003007 (2)
There is also a Mirador San Miguel Arcangel which offers stunning views of Laguna de Yahuarcocha, the mountains/volcanoes surrounding the city as well as the city itself.
085083087
The main square is Parque Pedro Moncayo.  It is home to the Cathedral, Alcaldia and the clock tower.
019049052
A second square located just one block away is Parque La Merced.  This parque is home to the former military barracks/headquarters of the army.
074066
011
A third square is Parque Boyaca.  This square is home to Santa Domingo church and a monument honoring Simon Bolivar and those who died in the war of independence.
014016
There was no shortage of other churches and their associated squares.
031010
I went to Otavalo for the “giant Saturday market” along with the other “hordes of foreigners” to get in on the deals.  At least that is the way that my guidebook described it.  Maybe the fifth Saturday of any month is the exception but I did not see hordes of foreigners in attendance.  I did however see a beautiful square not far from the center of the action.  Again, it had the traditional layout with the church and city hall located along a side of the square.
018007017
Alberto Caeiro, the Portuguese poet, wrote,
“I’m in no hurry:  the sun and moon aren’t, either.
Nobody goes faster than the legs they have.
If where I want to go is far away, I’m not there in an instant.”
Categories: Ecuador | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.